top of page
  • Andrew Napolitano

Sets November deadline for recommendations

BOSTON — Treasurer Deb Goldberg today announced the Treasurer’s Task Force on Financial Literacy, which will bring together policymakers, educators, banks and advocates to examine the state of financial education in Massachusetts. Former Undersecretary of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation Barbara Anthony, currently a Senior Fellow at both the Kennedy School of Government and the Pioneer Institute, will chair the committee.

"As we prepare to build a statewide financial literacy program in Massachusetts, this task force will offer valuable insights, research and guidance," said Treasurer Deb Goldberg. "I look forward to working with this diverse group as we create a blueprint for economic security and financial stability that works for everyone throughout our state."

"I'm honored to be asked by Treasurer Goldberg to chair this vital task force,” said Barbara Anthony. “She believes, as do I that to give youngsters from all backgrounds a shot at the American dream, Massachusetts has to dramatically step up its commitment to financial literacy. And that is the goal this task force will pursue.”

Under the direction of Treasury’s Office of Economic Empowerment, the Treasurer’s Task Force on Financial Literacy will be responsible for launching a comprehensive research effort with the goal of developing recommendations on how to empower our citizens with the resources they need to plan to budget their money, save for retirement and better understand the impact of the economic decisions. The key demographic groups studied will be K-12 students, college students and adults. The Task Force’s final report will serve as an action plan for the State Treasurer and the Financial Literacy Trust Fund Board.

The Task Force will convene for six months and will file a final report with the State Treasurer no later than November 1, 2015. Members of the Treasurer’s Task Force on Financial Literacy

  • Barbara Anthony, Chair, Former Undersecretary of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation, currently a Senior Fellow at both the Kennedy School of Government and the Pioneer Institute

  • Ann Bookman, Director, Center for Women in Politics and Public Policy, McCormack Graduate School, UMass Boston

  • George M. Blount, Manager, Strategy & Research, John Hancock Retirement Plan Services

  • Cheryl Cannon, Massachusetts Money Management Statewide Coordinator, representing AARP

  • Sol Carbonell, Assistant Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

  • John Chapman, Undersecretary Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation

  • David J. Cotney, Commissioner of Banks

  • Susan Duncan, Senior Vice President & Regional Operations Executive, Bank of America

  • Representative Lori A. Ehrlich, Speaker of the House designee

  • David Floreen, Senior Vice President, MA Bankers Association

  • Jake Foster, Assistant Director for STEM, representing DESE Commissioner

  • Paul Gentile, Cooperative Credit Union Association, Inc.

  • Larry Glazer, Jump$tart

  • Tom Graf, Executive Director MEFA

  • Scott Guild, President, Massachusetts Council on Economic Education

  • William Hart, Executive Officer, Massachusetts Community Colleges

  • Representative Hannah Kane, House Minority Leader designee

  • Terry Kwan, Board Member, Asian Community Development Corporation

  • Giles Li, Executive Director, Boston Chinatown Neighborhood Association

  • Brian McCoubrey, Senate Minority Leader designee

  • Clantha McCurdy, Ph.D., Senior Deputy Commissioner, Access and Student Financial Assistance, MA Board of Higher Ed

  • Senator Michael Moore, Senate President designee

  • Margaret Miley, Executive Director, The Midas Collaborative

  • Russet Morrow, Public Policy Director, United Way of Massachusetts Bay and Merrimack Valley

  • Rick Musiol, Jr., Senior Vice President, Regional Director of Public Affairs, New England, Citizens Bank

  • Todd Ostrowski, MTA, Ludlow Teacher’s Association

  • Sylvia de Haas Phillips, Senior Vice President Community Impact & Engagement, United Way of Pioneer Valley

  • James Slattery, Senior Director of Financial Aid, Northeastern University and President-Elect MASFAA

  • Mary Sullivan, Director of Community Education, Attorney General

  • Jeanne Thompson, Vice President for Thought Leadership, Fidelity

  • Megan Yost, Vice President, Head of Participant Engagement, State Street

People or organizations wishing to get involved can get more information by visiting

On day one, Treasurer Goldberg created an Office of Economic Empowerment led by a deputy treasurer with the deliberate goal of incorporating a range of initiatives, including financial literacy, college affordability and programming to support wage equality.



Andrew Napolitano

Communications Director

(617) 367-9333 x614

Cell: (781) 403-0600


Follow Us
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Flickr Social Icon
bottom of page