top of page
  • Andrew Napolitano

Massachusetts State Treasurer Deborah Goldberg Elected NAST President

October 7, 2019


Media Contact: Alex Madison

(202) 591-5713

The National Association of State Treasurers (NAST) announced today the 2020 leadership election results. Massachusetts State Treasurer Deborah Goldberg will lead NAST as president starting January 1, 2020, succeeding current NAST President and Utah State Treasurer David Damschen.

A businesswoman, local official, and community leader, Goldberg was elected State Treasurer in 2014, then re-elected in 2018 on a platform to protect taxpayer dollars, bring new levels of transparency to state government, and advance policies that break down barriers and create economic empowerment.

“As the incoming president of the National Association of State Treasurers, I re-affirm our commitment to increasing access to financial literacy programs, helping expand college savings plans, improving retirement savings and ABLE accounts, promoting tools that save taxpayer money through outstanding debt management, and supporting the consistent return of unclaimed property,” said incoming NAST President and Massachusetts State Treasurer Goldberg. “I look forward to serving my bipartisan colleagues, as we advocate for sound financial policies.”

“I am honored to have been given the opportunity to serve as NAST president this year,” said current NAST President and Utah State Treasurer David Damschen. “I look forward to supporting Treasurer Goldberg, who is an exceptional Treasurer and exceedingly qualified to lead our association, in her role as NAST president in 2020.”

The complete roster of 2020 NAST elected leaders includes:

  • President: Massachusetts Treasurer Deborah Goldberg

  • Senior Vice President: Indiana Treasurer Kelly Mitchell

  • Secretary-Treasurer: Connecticut Treasurer Shawn Wooden

  • Eastern Region Vice President: Maine Treasurer Henry Beck

  • Southern Region Vice President: Arkansas Treasurer Dennis Milligan (re-elected)

  • Midwestern Region Vice President: Illinois Treasurer Michael Frerichs (re-elected)

  • Western Region Vice President: New Mexico Treasurer Tim Eichenberg

Elections took place during the NAST 2019 Annual Conference: Convening Leaders, the country’s largest gathering of State Treasurers. This year, more than 25 State Treasurers and numerous leaders in public finance from across the country gathered in Naples, Florida, to focus on fiscal policies and to elect new leadership of the Association.

About National Association of State Treasurers

The National Association of State Treasurers seeks to provide advocacy and support that enables member states to pursue and administer sound financial policies and programs benefiting the citizens of the nation. Membership is composed of all state treasurers or state finance officials with comparable responsibilities from the United States, its commonwealths, territories, and the District of Columbia. The private sector is represented through the Corporate Affiliate Program that was established to build professional relationships and foster cooperation between the public and private sectors. The association serves its members through educational conferences and webinars, a variety of working groups, policy advocacy, and publications that provide information about developments in public finance. For more information, visit


Andrew Napolitano

Communications Director

(617) 367-9333 x614

Cell: (781) 403-0600


Follow Us
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Flickr Social Icon
bottom of page